Sunday, March 8, 2009

Good-Bye, ABC and Good Riddance


You will please excuse the following rant, but it has to be said once and for all...


Dear ABC/Disney,

I never thought I would be writing something like this, least of all to a TV network but it's time SOMEONE said this.

I grew up watching your network, going way back to the 70's. I have such fond memories of endless Saturday morning cartoons, so many afternoons of Wide World of Sports, spending my nights watching almost every show from Room 222 to Moonlighting. I mean. you brought me the greatest swear word ever, Frak, when you put on Battlestar Galactica. I endured all those "Afterschool Specials," even when I had no clue what they were about. I still get chills thinking about the movie "The Day After" and the mini-series "Amerika" about a Soviet-run US. I don't even have to Mention "Roots," that's something that everyone in my generation will still remember when we first saw it.

Even after I reached adulthood, I still watched. Friday nights, when it wasn't football season, I was there with you from Full House on. You held on to Tuesday nights with Roseanne, I mean come on, who was putting a show like that on? No one, that's who. But lately, you've made some really Stupid decisions regarding shows and not giving some great shows the chance to build.

Take George Lopez, for instance. What the Frak were you thinking in cancelling it in favor of a show about Cavemen? I mean really? really? Cavemen? even Fox wouldn't have been that stupid. Then you go and let Boston Legal fall to the wayside after only five years. There were so many stories still there that could have been amazing. But you keep a show like Lost on, or worse, you subject us to "reality programming" like The Bachelor and it's incestuous sibling, The Bachelorette. Did you not see how Seth McFarlane skewered in that episode of "Family Guy?"



But the last straw came this week for me when "Life on Mars" was cancelled after only one season. That did it. That was my breaking point. As of now, I'm officially through with you. Other than the Indy 500, the end of the NASCAR season and the College Football season, I won't be watching anymore. I'll get the DVD's for Ugly Betty, or better yet, watch the original novella, Betty La Fea, on Telefutura, but for all intents and purposes, I'm done watching ABC. Sadly, that also means no more Jimmy Kimmel as well, but some sacrifices have to be made to make a point.

So farewell, ABC. Don't let the door hit you on the ass as you leave...

No comments: